Hart Publishing - 2019 Catalogue

Welcome to our 2019 catalogue Given that uncertainty has defined much of the last year, not least in the legal world, the steadfastness of Hart authors in delivering discipline-shaping scholarship was hugely appreciated by the Hart team. Thank you all! Since our last catalogue, we have had one of our most successful years in terms of prize-winning books. At the SLSA conference, the 2019 SLSA Book Prize was awarded to Unity in Adversity by Charlotte O’Brien and the Prize for Early Career Academics to Detention of Terrorism Suspects by Maureen Duffy. In December, the 2018 Inner Temple Book Prize (Main Prize) was won by Paul S Davies for Accessory Liability . Jason NE Varuhas was awarded the 2018 Inner Temple Book Prize (New Author’s Prize) for Damages and Human Rights . Finally in the field of international law, the 2017 Paul Guggenheim Prize was jointly awarded to Complicity in International Criminal Law by Marina Aksenova and Complicity and its Limits in the Law of International Responsibility by Vladyslav Lanovoy. It is a real privilege to be associated with such significant research. 2019 brings with it a huge variety of publications, with over 150 new books publishing in the year. Highlights include the seventh edition of Simester and Sullivan’s Criminal Law: Theory and Doctrine by A P Simester, J R Spencer, F Stark, G R Sullivan, G J Virgo and A Judge’s Journey by Lord Dyson. Public lawyers will welcome The Constitution of Brazil by Virgílio Afonso da Silva, The Constitution of Myanmar by Melissa Crouch and The Constitution of Poland by Miroslaw Granat and Katarzyna Granat: all publishing in the seminal Constitutional Systems of the World series. Finally, it is a matter of huge pride that Hart published Louis Blom-Cooper’s final book Unreasoned Verdict: The Jury’s Out . His contribution to the law was immense and he will be much missed. Sinéad Moloney Editorial Director, May 2019